Go Back   American Sedan Forum > Main American Sedan Categories > American Sedan General

Old 10-13-2016, 07:20 PM
Dexterdog

Default Track day car

Hello I'm new here and looking for some set up suggestions. I raced a formula vee for 15 years and go karts for the last 40 years! I've been doing track days with my 2007 Mustang GT for a few years now and having some fun. A couple years ago I started making some suspension changes and it seems everything I've done has made it handle worse! It understeers like a dumptruck! I'm asking you mustang guys what do I have to do to get this thing to turn! Here's what I have done so far. Kenny Brown front arms,rear roll center relocation brackets, trailing arm relocation brackets and Boss 302 tie rod ends(steering). then I added a BMR tubular K member and radiator support to save some weight. I also added the Ford Racing FR3 adjustable handling package. Well the car worked better stock I think! I added maximum motorsports camber plates and can get - 2.75 degrees and that seems to help but still understeering. I put the panhard bar back in the stock location, didn't really feel any change. OK so I got a set of 18x9.5 wheels and continental 275/35/18 slicks and went 4 seconds faster! 1:22:23 at Blackhawk Farms! but still understeering, just faster. So what I'm going to change this winter is putting the stock K member back on, I think the tubular K member flexes too much? also I ordered a set of Boss 302 lower controll arms and Steeda competition springs. Am I going in the right direction now? what do you guys suggest? I am doing this on a tiny budget so big dollar stuff is out for now. anyway any suggestions?? Thanks, Jim Ryder
Old 10-15-2016, 05:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexterdog View Post